RSS

Pastor’s Desk June 2013

04 Jun

June 2013

Dear Sisters and Brothers in Christ,

I love flowers. The bright colors and varieties create a happy landscape.  Even though I’m not a master gardener, I still enjoy planting flowers and watching them flourish.  When I purchase a plant, I always read the directions on the label about when and where to plant and how to water.  The label also tells me how big the plant will grow and when to expect it to bloom.

Sometimes, however, no matter how well I follow the instructions, the plant doesn’t bloom on time.  I continue to care for it as I should, but often I just give up hope that it will bloom.  Then one day when I least expect it, I discover a flower!  It doesn’t matter that the plant didn’t bloom when it was supposed to. The fact that it bloomed at all brings me joy.

Perhaps people are like flowers in that way.  We don’t all bloom or mature at the same rate.  But God doesn’t give up on us.  Nor should we give up on others, such as children or friends.

The scripture say,

Let us not grow weary in doing what is right, for we will reap at harvest time, if we do not give up. (Galations 6:9 NRSV)

With proper care and prayer, we all bloom according to God’s timing.

May God richly bless you and your loved ons and continue to plant the seeds and trust God for the harvest!

In Christ,

Pastor Dennis

 

Leave a Reply

 
