RSS

From the Pastor’s Desk: February 2014

31 Jan

Sisters and Brothers in Christ,

I greet you all in the name of Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior in the first month on this new year, 2014.  Grace and peace be with you always.

I stood in the airport walkway as people rushed past.  A young teenager travelling alone, I had missed my connecting flight, I had no idea how to continue my journey to JFK, New York.  Bewildered and frightened, I felt completely helpless.  Doubt and fear set in for a while.

Suddenly someone called out: :Dennis! Where are you headed?”  I turned to see a family friend, en route to her connecting flight.  With ease, he guided me to the service desk where I received an alternate flight to reach my destination.  Thirty five years later, I still recall the surprise of hearing my name in that airport.  Someone knew me!  Someone was there to help me.

I imagine Hagar  also felt alone and bewildered on the desert road.  Scripture reads, “Hagar servant of Sarai, where have you come From, and where are you going?” (Genesis 16:8)
 
What a surprise to hear someone calling her name! Someone knew her.  Someone knew how to guide her.  That “someone” was the living, all-seeing God who sent and angel to help her.  Hagar follow God’s direction and become the mother of Ishmael.
 
Sometimes we may feel lost in perplexity and fear, not knowing what to do.  But as we pray and meditate on God’s word, we will come to see that God knows us by name (see Isa 43:1), and offers ‘grace to help us in our time of need’ (Heb 4:16).
 
May God truly bells and lead us on our journey together!

Peace in Christ,

 

Pastor Dennis Chung

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
